Shameless Plug Friday


What a great concept.  Pick one day a week to “promote” my Etsy store.  I have tons & tons of vintage clothing & accessories to get listed for sale.  I am making a committment to get off my behind & get those photos taken!!!  Nice weather this week. No excuse not to. I have two dressforms (average and plus size) and a wonderful mannequin I got for a song from Craigslist for putting those clothes on for photos.

Then there are all those 18 gallon tubs (about 80 of them) taking up a lot of space in my hay barn. I do have a small building (okay, a small building KIT) to put up. 10X14. It’s metal, but I’m going to use it to make a store right here on the farm (as well as my online shop) to sell my vintage stuff, refashions and of course my goat milk soaps. A skylight or two should help lighten it up.  I’ll be blogging about that project as we work on it.

So here’s my “Shameless Plug”.

20's Fringed Hat

Sequined & Fringed 20’s Handmade Hat.

What could be nicer for that elegant date night than a gawdy, sequined hat with lots of coined fringe?

Jointed Owl Pendant

For all you owl collectors out there, this is a must have.

Fruit Basket Bag

What would be better on a picnic than a fruit basket?

  

Frederick’s of Hollywood Leopard Print Heels

On a more serious note, who can resist these shoes! I only wish they fit me. 

Size 7M.

Tomorrow I have a couple of items I want to get refashion ideas for.  I’ll post those here and at Refashion Co-op

I walked into one of my favorite local thrift stores a couple of weeks ago and the owner handed me a stack of “vintage” clothing. FREE. I love those people. Anyway there were a couple of handmade “tents” or housedresses I guess you’d call them. Same pattern, different fabric. Ugly as all get out. But FREE. So I want to make them over into something.  The fabric is at least worth using. There was a vintage swimsuit in that bag too. Just needs some work on the elastic. I also bought a beige tunic at another favorite shop that is boring but has potential; maybe just some lace painting

Finally, I’m so jealous of anyone who lives near a Goodwill Outlet store and can buy clothes at $1 a pound.  So I went to the local shop and asked if they could do something similar for me.  Soooooooooo…….they sold me bags of unsellable donated clothing at $1 a bag (a bag weighs an average of 10 pounds). I can’t root through the bags, but they are clear so I can see, sort of, what’s in them. I bought five bags and had a ball sorting.  I tossed a couple of men’s sad polyester pants, but found men’s shirts, men’s ties, crocheted jackets with small tears and a lot of other stuff, like torn jackets with useable leather for crafting.  Those shirts are perfectly fine, not a flaw, stain or tear on them. I guess they had too many shirts. 

Yes, I’m a serious addict.  I don’t know what your experiences are, but in my world I get much better deals from the locally owned, “Mom & Pop” thrift stores than I do from the chains like Goodwill and Salvation Army, even on SA’s half price Wednesday. And who doesn’t want to support local businesses?! Make everyday Small Business Saturday!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen @ Folk Haven
    May 18, 2012 @ 14:44:32

    Wow… $1 a bag for clothing! What a great way to get some fabric. Most of the fabric I used is taken from cast-off clothing as well. Looking forward to your next post and to see how your blog and business develop!

    Reply

    • moosewoodvintage
      May 18, 2012 @ 14:47:03

      Thanks Karen. I’m having fun. Should have done this long ago. I was pretty surprised at the $1 a bag too. They’re only open Mon, Wed & Sat. I will go back next week sometime I think for more.

      Reply

  2. Little Blue Mouse
    May 19, 2012 @ 08:26:54

    What bargains! I can’t wait to see what you make.

    A lot of the stuff in the charity shops over here is way over priced, but I do come across some bargains occasionally. Car boot sales can be a good source as well.

    Reply

    • moosewoodvintage
      May 19, 2012 @ 08:37:08

      We have a lot of overpriced “charity shops” in the US as well. The smaller shops are the good ones. Today there’s a rummage sale I really want to go to. I just have to scrape up some cash first.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

