The “Big” Store Opening


I held my grand opening this past Friday & Saturday. Now admittedly, I didn’t spend any money advertising, but I am trying to keep start up costs down at first.  Luckily, I don’t have to pay rent as the “store” is in my front yard. 

I had a couple of customers who seemed very excited to see vintage clothes & accessories for sale in the area. There are lots of resale shops & antique stores that have a few vintage items, but no store exclusively vintage. Lucky me!

Setting up was interesting. My tent is roughly 10 X 10, but I have an unused “deck” next to it & of course the outside area as long as it’s not raining…and it didn’t rain all weekend.

 I didn’t get my “official” sign finished, but I did utilize the old wooden ironing board I picked up last year at a yard sale for $1. I painted on the logo…didn’t get to the highlights or wording yet. The rest of the board I had previously painted in chalkboard paint. So I put this at the top of the driveway.

Along the lines of “trash to treasure”, I made a jewelry display from an old crib spring. You can see that in the first picture above.

Only a small portion of my inventory made it out to the sale. I have way too much & have to rethink buying anything new until I downsize the inventory I have.

Again…. just another portion of my stock.

I have to admit though, for a thrown together, out under a tent “store”, things didn’t look too bad.

Hats galore.

Shoes anyone?

Never enough handbags.

Spread out.

Thank goodness I have one good, strong rack.

All in all I think I did okay this past weekend.  This coming weekend, I’ll pop a few more flyers around town & update a Craigslist ad.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 08:21:26

    Good luck! Much success!

    Reply

  2. pillowsalamode
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 08:43:42

    Your display looks amazing, Ruth!!! I wish I lived close enough to come see it in person! 🙂 I’m glad your venture is off to such a great start . . . and news about your unique store will soon spread by word of mouth, too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ickleed
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 15:17:51

    What a fantastic idea. This certainly beats ebay. Ingenious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

